Page 9 - FAA-H-8083-19a Plane Sense
P. 9


               Plane Sense is a handbook for aviation enthusiasts, especially aircraft owners and operators or those who are
               interested in becoming aircraft owners, who are looking for a quick reference guide on a number of general
               aviation topics. This handbook is published by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

               The FAA is the executive agency responsible for aviation oversight in the United States. The FAA’s mission is
               to provide the safest, most efficient aerospace system in the world.

               The FAA is responsible for the safety of civil aviation. The Federal Aviation Act of 1958 created the agency
               under the name Federal Aviation Agency. The FAA adopted its present name in 1967 when it became a part of
               the Department of Transportation (DOT). The FAA’s major roles include:

                 • Regulating civil aviation to promote safety
                 • Encouraging and developing civil aeronautics, including new aviation technology
                 •  Developing and operating a system of air traffic control and navigation for both civil and military aircraft
                 • Researching and developing the National Airspace System (NAS) and civil aeronautics
                 •  Developing and carrying out programs to control aircraft noise and other environmental effects of civil
                 • Regulating U.S. commercial space transportation

               FAA Headquarters is located in Washington, D.C. However, the FAA is organized into eight geographical
               regions and the Mike Monroney Aeronautical Center located in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. FAA regions are
               organized as follows:

                 • Alaskan (Alaska)
                 • Central (Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Nebraska, Tennessee)
                 • Eastern (Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire,
                    New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia)
                 • Great Lakes (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin)
                 • Northwest Mountain (Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming)
                 •  Southern Region (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Virgin Islands)
                 • Southwest Region (Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas)
                 • Western-Pacific Region (Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada)

               Within each region, you will find several Flight Standards District Offices (FSDOs). Your local FSDO is your
               best resource for questions about aircraft ownership, operation, maintenance, regulatory compliance, and other
               issues. FAA inspectors are generally assigned to a FSDO. Aviation safety inspectors (ASIs) can assist you with
               issues related to the operation of your aircraft, airman certification, maintenance, and other general questions.

               You can find your local FSDO on the FAA website at by selecting “About FAA” from the top menu
               bar and following the links to locate your local FSDO’s contact information.

               Aircraft certification-related activities are handled by the FAA Aircraft Certification Office (ACO) that serves
               your geographic area.

   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14